Free Things To Do with NYC Kids in August 2017

Free Summer Festivals, Concert and Events for NYC Families 2017

Free Things To Do in August 2017

See June & July events | See September events | See anytime events

Tuesday, August 1 Stroll through the beautiful Brooklyn Botanic Garden, which offers no-cost admission on Tuesdays all summer. FREE

Wednesday, August 2 Head to Brooklyn Bridge Park for an alfresco storytime with the librarians from the Brooklyn Public Library. FREE

Thursday, August 3 Enjoy a movie and a gorgeous view of lower Manhattan with Brooklyn Bridge Park's Movies with a View series. Screening tonight: 9 to 5. FREE

Friday, August 4 End your beach day with a bang. After a visit to Coney Island by daylight, stick around to watch the fireworks fly, this and every summer Friday. FREE

Saturday, August 5  Stroll, scoot, or cycle your way through the streets of Manhattan during Summer Streets. The car-free fun happens the first three Saturday mornings in August.

Sunday, August 6 Stop by the lovely Le Carrousel in Bryant Park for a cheap spin and gratis magic show. FREE

Monday, August 7 Hit one of NYC's beautiful beaches. The season ends on September 10.

Tuesday, August 8 Head to Brooklyn's Central Library plaza for a hip-hop themed, educational concert from the Alphabet Rockers. FREE

Wednesday, August 9 Explore parts of the New York Botanical Garden at no cost—grounds-only admission is free all day on Wednesdays year-round. FREE

Thursday, August 10 Meet a princess, try a yoga storytime, and catch a preview of The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show at the final day of Citi Summer in the Square kids programming.

Friday, August 11 Make like Harry Potter and apparate yourself on over to Pier 46 in Hudson River Park for a screening of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, part of Hudson River Park's weekly RiverFlicks for Kids series. FREE

Saturday, August 12 Descend on Central Park's Rumsey Playfield for the annual SummerStage Family Day featuring the musical stylings of They Might be Giants and Bill Childs. FREE

Sunday, August 13 Head to Flushing Meadows Corona Park for the annual weekend-long Hong Kong Dragon Boat Festival, filled with boat races, kite flying, and cultural performances. FREE

Monday, August 14 Take a dip in one of NYC's many outdoor pools before they close for the season on Sunday, September 10. FREE

Tuesday, August 15 Go stargazing with astronomers on The High Line tonight and every Tuesday throughout the summer. FREE

Wednesday, August 16 Register for Kids Bowl Free at Queens' Astoria Bowl and Jib Lanes or Brooklyn's Shell Lanes. Children younger than 16 can play up to two free games per day (times vary and shoe rental is not included). FREE

Thursday, August 17 Learn how to kayak at Brooklyn Bridge Park today and every Thursday evening and Saturday throughout the summer. FREE

Friday, August 18 Head to Queens' Hunters Point Park South for an evening movie on the water and catch a showing of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory tonight. FREE


The creative sand sculpting contest at Coney Island always wows. Photo by Salon NYC via Flickr.

Saturday, August 19 Head to Coney Island to compete in the annual Sand Sculpting Contest or just gawk at the amazing entries. FREE

Sunday, August 20 Gawk at classic bugs and vans at the NYC Volkswagen Traffic Jam on Governors Island. FREE

Monday, August 21 Try your hand at casting a line by joining other anglers in Hudson River Park. Pick up fishing skills and learn about the Hudson River habitat. FREE

Tuesday, August 22 Hone your green thumb—and that of your preschooler—at Young Sprouts Gardening in Battery Park City. FREE

Wednesday, August 23 Watch sparklers erupt over Staten Island's South Beach during its weekly fireworks display. held every Wednesday night between June 21 and August 30. FREE

Thursday, August 24 Head to Sunnyside, Queens' Bliss Plaza for a Summer Thursday Celebration featuring featuring family-friendly games and activities plus live musical performances from local artists. FREE

Friday, August 25 Enjoy some gratis fun at New York City's National Parks & Monuments when they waive their admission fees today. FREE

Saturday, August 26 Help kick off the U.S. Open at Arthur Ashe Kids’ Day with tennis clinics, pro meet-and-greets, and game play. Tennis activities are FREE (the concert costs extra and always sells out in advance).

Sunday, August 27 Visit Green-Wood Cemetery to experience what life was like in colonial America in honor of the anniversary of the Battle of Brooklyn. FREE

Monday, August 28 Strike a pose with Fearless Girl and explore the nearby, and always free, National Museum of the American Indian. FREE

Tuesday, August 29 Head to Clay Pit Ponds State park for Tot Time Tuesdays where kids ages 0-3 are invited to make crafts and join in story time or sing-alongs. FREE

Wednesday, August 30 Explore the Staten Island Zoo at no cost today and every Wednesday from 2 to 4:45pm year-round. FREE 

Thursday, August 31 Romp in one of NYC's awesome sprinkler parks and splash pads before the water is turned off for the season. FREE

See June & July events | See September events | See anytime events

Check out our Summer Fun Guide and our Events Calendar for additional suggestions.

Top image: High diving at Slide the City at Summer Streets. Photo courtesy of NYC DOT.

Area/Neighborhood: