Photo by Adam Baker/CC BY 2.0
Photo by Adam Baker/CC BY 2.0

Best Things To Do in Houston in April with Kids: Easter, a Fairytale Ball, & Free Train Rides

What better way to kick off the April festivities than by celebrating Easter? From flashlight Easter egg hunts and Easter egg scrambles to easy Easter crafts, there are a loads of fun, holiday themed things to do. We even have a full round-up of the best egg hunts, bunny photos, and Easter events to make planning your Easter activities easy. 

This month should also see the start of everyone's favorite state flower blooming, which means that bluebonnet pictures will be in full swing. Time to start coordinating those outfits and find the perfect patch. Our spring activities post is another favorite to keep you entertained and active throughout the season; we're especially big fans of outdoor storytimes like the Nature Storytime at Nature Discovery Center and the Family Storytime & Craft at Levy Park

To have all the latest news and activities delivered to your inbox, be sure to subscribe to our FREE Mommy Poppins Houston newsletter.

While we try to promote safe activities that occur outdoors or with social distancing guidelines in place, keep your family and others safe by wearing a mask and maintaining appropriate distance. If you arrive at an event that appears too crowded, try using the “nearby” search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do. 

Places featured in this article:


Sterling Municipal Library
upcoming events

Mercer Botanic Gardens
upcoming events
(Wed Jan 6, 2021 - Wed May 19, 2021) Music in the Gardens at Mercer Botanic Gardens
(Mon Feb 1, 2021 - Mon Jun 21, 2021) Children's Storytime in the Garden

The Recreation Center at Rob Fleming Park
upcoming events
(Fri Jan 8, 2021 - Fri May 14, 2021) Family BINGO Night in The Woodlands

Zube Park
upcoming events
(Sat Mar 20, 2021 - Sat Nov 20, 2021) HALS Public Ride Day at Zube Park - Free Train Rides

Burroughs Park
upcoming events
(Thu Mar 25, 2021 - Thu Apr 22, 2021) Afternoon Canoe at Burroughs Park

Evelyn's Park
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 22, 2021) Earth Day Seedling Giveaway

Galveston Children's Museum
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Fairytale Ball at GCM

Rosenberg Railroad Museum
upcoming events
(Sun Jan 24, 2021 - Sun Apr 25, 2021) Garden Railroad Run Days at Rosenberg Railroad Museum

George R. Brown Convention Center
upcoming events
(Sat May 15, 2021 - Sun Aug 15, 2021) The Dr. Seuss Experience Tour Comes to Houston
Kingwood Farmer's Market
Kingwood Town Center Park - 2:00 PM Pick
EarthFest
Online - various times Pick
EarthFest Online
American Museum of Natural History Online - various times Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides