Photo courtesy of CBF Productions
Photo courtesy of CBF Productions

Drive-in Movie Theaters around LA: Family Movie Nights with Built-in Social Distance

The return of the drive-in movie is definitely on our pandemic silver lining list. Ticket sales are up at drive-in movie theaters across the country, and pop-up drive-in movie events are cropping up anywhere someone can fit a movie screen. Don't just think of these as summer activities; SoCal weather makes drive-ins great spring or fall events, which is no doubt why we keep finding new drive-in events every week. So BYO Popcorn and PJs, and pull over for an old-school family movie night!

Don't forget to bring masks for the bathroom and concession stands. These fun kids' face masks are just the ticket!

Places featured in this article:


Kenneth Hahn Disc Golf Course
upcoming events
(Fri Apr 9, 2021 - Sat Aug 28, 2021) Drive-In at the Park (Culver City)

Greek Theatre
upcoming events
(Fri Apr 9, 2021 - Sat Apr 17, 2021) Cinespia Drive-In at the Greek Theatre

La Cañada Thursday Club
upcoming events
(Thu Mar 11, 2021 - Sun Apr 18, 2021) Drive-In at the La Canada Thursday Club

Lakewood Center Mall
upcoming events
(Sat Mar 20, 2021 - Sat May 8, 2021) Lakewood Drive-In Movies at the Mall

WE Drive-Ins
upcoming events
(Thu Feb 11, 2021 - Thu Apr 15, 2021) WE Drive-Ins (Santa Monica)

Hollywood American Legion Post 43

Various Locations, including Sears Parking Lot
upcoming events
(Thu Mar 4, 2021 - Sun Apr 11, 2021) Electric Dusk Drive-In 2021

Castaic Lake Park
upcoming events
(Fri Apr 2, 2021 - Sat Aug 28, 2021) Drive-In At The Park (Castaic Lake Park)

Arena Cinelounge
upcoming events
(Fri Jan 1, 2021 - Tue Apr 13, 2021) Arena Cinelounge Drive-In

King Gillette Ranch
upcoming events
(Sat Feb 27, 2021 - Sat May 15, 2021) Mulholland Drive-In at King Gillette Ranch

The Roadium Open Air Market
upcoming events
(Fri Jan 8, 2021 - Fri Apr 30, 2021) Friday Night Flicks Drive-In at the Roadium

Sanctuary Animal Assisted Therapy
upcoming events
(Fri Mar 5, 2021 - Sat May 1, 2021) Spring Farm Movie Nights by the Fire
Open: Butterfly Pavilion and Nature Gardens
Natural History Museum - various times Pick
Springtime on the Farm 2021
Underwood Family Farms - 9:00 AM
Farm Visits at Gilchrist Farm
Gilchrist Farm - 9:00 AM
Open: America's Teaching Zoo
America's Teaching Zoo at Moorpark College - 11:00 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides