Photo courtesy of the Lone Star Flight Museum
Photo courtesy of the Lone Star Flight Museum

Spring Activities: 50 Things We Can't Wait To Do this Spring in Houston

After almost a full year of socially distancing and staying home, Houston is positively blooming with spring activities and events as the state begins to open up again. Outdoor activities are the name of the game, and our Playgrounds & Parks Guide is sure to be your go-to resource for all the different places you can get active outdoors.

Spring is a great time to do a little family camping, and there are tons of campgrounds close to Houston that will allow you to get out of town without traveling far. New to camping? We recommend checking out our comprehensive guide to RV camping for all sorts of tips and tricks. If you're interested in traveling a little farther, we highly recommend Pedernales Falls State Park and Longhorn Cavern State Park

Because we never can be too confident what the weather will be like in Houston, heading to an indoor play space to seek refuge from inclement weather is always a fantastic idea. Classic places for kid-friendly fun like bowling alleys, glow-in-the-dark mini golf, indoor roller skating, and trampoline parks are always excellent choices when the weather is less than cooperative.

For more ideas of where to have fun in Houston this spring, check out our list 100 Things To Do With Houston Kids for a plethora of ideas perfect for almost any time of year. Read on for some of our top event and activity picks this spring.

While the mask mandate has been lifted in Texas and businesses are once again operating at 100%, we recommend continuing to social distance and be vigilant about Covid-19. Stay safe and healthy this spring!

Places featured in this article:


The Recreation Center at Rob Fleming Park
upcoming events
(Fri Jan 8, 2021 - Fri May 14, 2021) Family BINGO Night in The Woodlands

The Recreation Center at Rob Fleming Park

Levy Park Conservancy
upcoming events
(Tue Feb 2, 2021 - Tue Apr 27, 2021) Family Storytime & a Craft at Levy Park
(Thu Feb 25, 2021 - Thu Apr 29, 2021) Youth Krav Maga by Krav Maga Houston at Levy Park

Mercer Botanic Gardens
upcoming events
(Mon Feb 1, 2021 - Mon Jun 21, 2021) Children's Storytime in the Garden
(Wed Jan 6, 2021 - Wed May 19, 2021) Music in the Gardens at Mercer Botanic Gardens

CAF Houston Wing Museum & Hangar
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 5, 2020 - Sat Jun 19, 2021) Hangar Hang Out at CAF Houston Wing Museum & Hangar

George Ranch Historical Park

Kickerillo-Mischer Preserve
upcoming events
(Wed Mar 3, 2021 - Wed Apr 21, 2021) Afternoon Canoe at Kickerillo Mischer Preserve

Mercer Botanic Gardens
upcoming events
(Mon Feb 1, 2021 - Mon Jun 21, 2021) Children's Storytime in the Garden
(Wed Jan 6, 2021 - Wed May 19, 2021) Music in the Gardens at Mercer Botanic Gardens

The Recreation Center at Rob Fleming Park

Heritage Place Amphitheater

Zube Park
upcoming events
(Sat Mar 20, 2021 - Sat Nov 20, 2021) HALS Public Ride Day at Zube Park - Free Train Rides

Rosenberg Railroad Museum
upcoming events
(Sun Jan 24, 2021 - Sun Apr 25, 2021) Garden Railroad Run Days at Rosenberg Railroad Museum

Galveston Children's Museum
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Fairytale Ball at GCM

Levy Park Conservancy
upcoming events
(Tue Feb 2, 2021 - Tue Apr 27, 2021) Family Storytime & a Craft at Levy Park
(Thu Feb 25, 2021 - Thu Apr 29, 2021) Youth Krav Maga by Krav Maga Houston at Levy Park

Levy Park Conservancy
upcoming events
(Tue Feb 2, 2021 - Tue Apr 27, 2021) Family Storytime & a Craft at Levy Park
(Thu Feb 25, 2021 - Thu Apr 29, 2021) Youth Krav Maga by Krav Maga Houston at Levy Park

Bay Area Park
upcoming events
(Wed Jan 6, 2021 - Fri May 21, 2021) EcoKids at Armand Bayou Nature Center
(Fri Jan 8, 2021 - Fri May 21, 2021) EcoTots at Armand Bayou Nature Center

Nature Discovery Center
upcoming events
(Wed Sep 16, 2020 - Wed Dec 29, 2021) Nature Storytime at Nature Discovery Center
(Sat Mar 6, 2021 - Sat May 1, 2021) Tree ID Walk at Nature Discovery Center

Grogan's Mill Center
upcoming events
(Sat Mar 6, 2021 - Sat Dec 18, 2021) The Woodlands Farmer's Market

Mayde Creek North Hike and Bike Trail
International Kids Fest at Traders Village
Trader's Village - 12:00 PM Pick
Concert in the Park at Northshore Park
Northshore Park - various times
Pompeii: The Exhibition
Houston Museum of Natural Science - various times
Prehistoric Beasts at the Houston Zoo
The Houston Zoo - various times
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides