Celebrate the remaining days of summer at Sugar Land Town Square's Back to School Splash Bash!  Photo courtesy of courtesy of Sugar Land Town Square
Celebrate the remaining days of summer at Sugar Land Town Square's Back to School Splash Bash! Photo courtesy of courtesy of Sugar Land Town Square

Best Things To Do in Houston in August 2021 With Kids

The arrival of August means summer is drawing to a close and schools are beginning to open, but that doesn't mean the fun events are slowing down. In fact, there are still plenty of summer festivals, outdoor movies, and other awesome kid-friendly events and activities happening in Houston that stretch well into August, giving you the chance to add in a few last hurrahs before the school year really gets underway.

If you're looking to get outdoors, the AIA Sandcastle competition is back in action this year, along with Tomball Night and Sugar Land's Summer Splash Bash. For some indoor fun, we highly recommend checking out glow in the dark golf or one of the many amazing indoor play spaces for toddlers and babies. Plus, is summer really complete until you visit one (or more!) of the best ice cream shops in Houston? We think not.  

Our activity calendar is constantly being updated with even more things to do in Houston, so be sure to bookmark that page for easy perusal, and our Summer Fun Guide is packed with ideas that will take you well into the fall. Make sure to subscribe to our newsletter to get all the best of Mommy Poppins delivered directly to your inbox.

Places featured in this article:


Discovery Green
upcoming events
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Fri Oct 1, 2021) Houston Artists Murals at Discovery Green
(Sat Jul 24, 2021 - Tue Oct 26, 2021) Screen on the Green at Discovery Green

Tomball's Historic Downtown Depot
upcoming events
(Sat Jun 12, 2021 - Sat Dec 4, 2021) 2nd Saturday at the Depot

Main Street - Tomball

Midtown Arts & Theater Center Houston

The Eugenia & George Sealy Pavilion

Heritage Place - Downtown Conroe

Levy Park Conservancy
upcoming events
(Thu May 6, 2021 - Thu Sep 30, 2021) Children's Bingo at Levy Park
(Sun Feb 28, 2021 - Sun Sep 26, 2021) HMNS at Levy Park
(Tue Feb 2, 2021 - Tue Sep 28, 2021) Family Storytime & a Craft at Levy Park

Holocaust Museum Houston

Ocean Star Offshore Drilling Rig & Museum
upcoming events
(Sat Jun 12, 2021 - Sat Dec 11, 2021) Family Day At The Ocean Star

The 1940 Air Terminal Museum
upcoming events
(Sat Jul 17, 2021 - Sat Nov 20, 2021) Open Ramp Day at the 1940 Air Terminal Museum
(Sat Sep 18, 2021 - Sat Dec 18, 2021) Wings & Wheels at the 1940 Air Terminal Museum

Zube Park
upcoming events
(Sat Mar 20, 2021 - Sat Nov 20, 2021) HALS Public Ride Day at Zube Park - Free Train Rides
Library of Congress National Book Festival
Library of Congress and Virtual - 9:00 AM Pick
Friday Night Music at Evelyn's Park
Evelyn's Park Conservancy - 6:00 PM Pick
Story Pirates Story Creation Zone
Online Link to Be Provided - 7:00 PM Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides