Celebrate Juneteenth from Auburn Ave. down to Centennial Olympic Park.Photo courtesy of the event
Celebrate Juneteenth from Auburn Ave. down to Centennial Olympic Park.Photo courtesy of the event

Top Things to do in Atlanta this Weekend: Father's Day, Juneteenth, Candytopia

Celebrate dad, explore a candy wonderland and commemorate the anniversary of the end to slavery with more Juneteenth celebrations in Atlanta than ever before. 

Candytopia--the interactive, delicious candy experience--is back this summer in Atlanta after a successful stint in 2019. Families can show dads some love by taking them to places with free admission for fathers like the Chattahoochee Nature Center or the Cherokee County Aquatic Center.  On June 19th, also known as Juneteenth, Atlanta families can celebrate freedom in several places around the city, with the biggest one in downtown (Juneteenth Atlanta Parade and Music Festival) that lasts all weekend. Atlanta also has lots of entertainment for kids this weekend in the form of live theater,  concerts, puppet shows and outdoor movies. 

With Atlanta heating up, families are flocking to water parks, local splash pads and pools but we also have access to awesome swimming lakes and beaches near Atlanta. Need kids to stay home and stay busy too? Check out our list of virtual camps and classes for toddlers through teenagers, which you can register for right here on Mommy Poppins! If kids ever utter the word "bored," then head right to our Summer Activities Guide with--seriously--hundreds of things to do from messy outdoor fun to movies to mocktails. 

Remember to sign up for our free newsletters to receive posts like this right to your inbox! 

Places featured in this article:


Cherokee County Aquatic Center
upcoming events

Copper Creek Farm
upcoming events
(Thu Jun 17, 2021 - Sat Jul 24, 2021) Copper Creek Farm Sunflower Festival

Centennial Olympic Park
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 18, 2021 - Sun Jun 20, 2021) Juneteenth Atlanta Parade and Music Festival

Stone Mountain Village
upcoming events

The Home Depot Backyard
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 18, 2021 - Fri Jul 23, 2021) Summer Movie Experience at Home Depot Backyard

Center for Puppetry Arts
upcoming events
(Wed Jun 16, 2021 - Sun Aug 1, 2021) The Ugly Duckling Puppet Show

Atlanta Botanical Garden
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 4, 2021 - Fri Oct 29, 2021) Shows for Seedlings at Atlanta Botanical Garden

Roswell Cultural Arts Center
upcoming events
(Tue Jun 15, 2021 - Sat Jul 10, 2021) Roswell Summer Puppet Series

Lawrenceville Lawn
upcoming events
(Wed Jun 16, 2021 - Wed Jul 7, 2021) Aurora Children's Playhouse: Summer Shows

Candytopia
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 11, 2021 - Sat Jul 31, 2021) Candytopia

Riverside Park
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 18, 2021) Family Food Truck Fridays

The Green at Halcyon
upcoming events
(Sat Jun 5, 2021 - Sat Jun 19, 2021) Goat Yoga at Halcyon

Young Gates-KIds Online Personalized Classes
upcoming events
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Scratch Junior Coding Camp for 4 to 7 Years

Young Gates-KIds Online Personalized Classes
upcoming events
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Gaming with Unity-Csharp Coding Camp for Kids
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Secrets of the Rubiks Cube Online Camp
(Mon Jun 21, 2021 - Mon Jul 19, 2021) Python with AI Coding 4 Week BootCamp
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Online Spanish Language Camp for Kids
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Coding For Little Curious Minds
(Mon Jun 21, 2021 - Mon Jul 19, 2021) Java Coding 4 Week Bootcamp
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Kids Python with Artificial Intelligence Online Camp
(Mon May 31, 2021 - Mon Aug 30, 2021) Mandarin Language Online Camp for Kids

Virtual
upcoming events
(Mon Jun 21, 2021 - Mon Nov 1, 2021) Online Piano Lessons Camp

Young Gates-KIds Online Personalized Classes
upcoming events
Next Step Virtual Financial Camp
Zoom link provided with registration - 9:30 AM
Scratch Junior Coding Camp for 4 to 7 Years
Young Gates-KIds Online Personalized Classes - 10:15 AM
Intro to Excel Sheets Programming Course
Young Gates-KIds Online Personalized Classes - 11:30 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides