The Great Jack O'Lantern Blaze returns to Old Bethpage Village Restoration for a seasonal run beginning in late September. Photo courtesy of the venue
The Great Jack O'Lantern Blaze returns to Old Bethpage Village Restoration for a seasonal run beginning in late September. Photo courtesy of the venue

Best Things To Do on Long Island in September 2021 With Kids

Summer days are behind us, but we're falling for these autumn activities. From fairs and festivals to movies and music, September is packing a punch.

We've got plenty more things to do in our Fall Fun Guide, which is jam-packed with our picks for the best apple picking, corn mazes, and other must-do fall outings.

Our activity calendar is growing by the day, and below, we've rounded up our curated list of the best things to do this September with kids. Read on for these can't-miss activities.

As always, if an event piques your interest, click through to our listing for all the details, including addresses and times. And keep in mind: On Long Island, especially now, really cool things to do with kids often book up quickly, so register or buy your tickets ASAP. Subscribe to our newsletters to get stories like this delivered directly to your inbox.

Places featured in this article:


Long Island Children's Museum
upcoming events
(Thu Sep 23, 2021 - Thu Apr 28, 2022) Story + Art at LICM
(Wed Sep 22, 2021 - Wed Apr 27, 2022) Music and Movement at LICM
(Fri May 28, 2021 - Sat Jun 11, 2022) Friendly Hours at Long Island Children's Museum

Farmingdale Village
upcoming events
(Sat Oct 2, 2021 - Sun Oct 3, 2021) Shakespeare on the Green
(Thu Oct 7, 2021 - Mon Oct 11, 2021) Farmingdale Columbus Day Fair

Brookhaven Parking lot
upcoming events
(Sat Jul 17, 2021 - Wed Aug 28, 2024) Drive-In Movies in the Town of Brookhaven

Old Bethpage Village Restoration
upcoming events
(Wed Sep 22, 2021 - Sun Nov 7, 2021) The Great Jack O'Lantern Blaze: Long Island

Callahan's Beach
upcoming events

Marjorie R. Post Park
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 25, 2021) DogFest Long Island-NYC

Sands Point Preserve
upcoming events
(Sat May 15, 2021 - Sun Jun 19, 2022) Wilderness Survival for Families at Sands Point Preserve
Library of Congress National Book Festival
Library of Congress and Virtual - 9:00 AM Pick
Story + Art at LICM
Long Island Children's Museum - 11:30 AM Pick
Halloween Drive-Thru at Stew's
Farmingdale Stew Leonard's - 11:00 AM Pick
Port Outdoors Dine & Shop
Main Street and Port Commons - 4:00 PM Pick
Bellmore Family Street Festival
Bellmore Long Island Railroad Station - various times Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides