Summerfest at Blue Cross RiverRink features amusements, skating, and more. Photo courtesy of  Summerfest
Summerfest at Blue Cross RiverRink features amusements, skating, and more. Photo courtesy of Summerfest

The Best Things to Do in Philly in June with Kids

With the school year wrapping up and summer break starting, families in Philly have some exciting options for day or evening excursions in June. Pick your own strawberries, enjoy a meal outdoors at a kid-friendly Philly restaurant, or peruse this list of rainy-day activities in case the weather doesn’t cooperate.

June is a great month to enjoy the sunshine, and this list of activities reflects that. The Philadelphia Flower Show heads outside this year. We honor Juneteenth mid-month with Philadelphia at the hub of the nation’s celebrations. Young fishermen or women can celebrate Father's Day at the Bucks County Fishing Derby, and Thomas and friends invite younger kids (and their parents) for a day out on a steam train.

If your family is looking to take advantage of this beautiful month, read on. And be sure to check out the Mommy Poppins Philadelphia events calendar.

As the Philadelphia area reopens, some events might still require social distancing and masking. If you arrive at a venue that appears too crowded, try using the “nearby” search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do.

Places featured in this article:


Candytopia Philadelphia, PA
upcoming events
(Thu May 6, 2021 - Wed Jun 30, 2021) Candytopia

Blue Cross RiverRink
upcoming events
(Fri May 7, 2021 - Sun Sep 26, 2021) Blue Cross RiverRink Summerfest

Greater Philadelphia Expo Center
upcoming events
(Sat Oct 2, 2021 - Sun Oct 3, 2021) Brick Fest Live

Pennsylvania Convention Center

Bartram’s Garden
upcoming events
(Wed Apr 14, 2021 - Wed Jun 16, 2021) Homeschooler Days

Betsy Ross House
upcoming events
(Sun Jun 13, 2021 - Sat Jun 19, 2021) Flag Fest at Betsy Ross House
(Fri Jun 4, 2021 - Fri Oct 1, 2021) Movies Under the Stars and Stripes

Upper Schuylkill Valley Park
upcoming events
(Wed Jun 16, 2021) Raving about Reptiles

Peace Valley Nature Center
upcoming events
(Thu Jun 17, 2021) Firefly Frolic
(Sat Apr 17, 2021 - Sat Jun 19, 2021) Bird Walk

Malcolm X Park
upcoming events

Strasburg Rail Road
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 18, 2021 - Mon Sep 20, 2021) Day Out with Thomas

Peace Valley Park Pavilion 1 -
upcoming events
(Sun Jun 20, 2021) Father's Day Fishing Derby

Francis Harvey Green Lot
upcoming events
(Tue Jun 22, 2021 - Sat Jun 26, 2021) Bethel Fire Company Summer Carnival

ArtsQuest Center at SteelStacks
upcoming events
(Tue May 4, 2021 - Wed Aug 4, 2021) Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks Free Family Movie Series
Flag Fest at Betsy Ross House
Betsy Ross House - 10:00 AM Pick
Paleo Playdates
The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University - 10:00 AM Pick
Raving about Reptiles
Upper Schuylkill Valley Park - 11:00 AM Pick
Hands on Science with DMNH
Winterthur Musuem, Garden & Library - 11:00 AM Pick
Big Time: Life in an Endangerous Age
The Philadelphia Zoo - 9:30 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides