Watch the giant balloons take flight at the Hudson Valley Hot Air Balloon Festival. Photo courtesy of the fest
Watch the giant balloons take flight at the Hudson Valley Hot Air Balloon Festival. Photo courtesy of the fest

Best Things To Do in Westchester in September 2021 with Kids

Summer might be winding down, but September is sizzling with must-do events for Westchester and Hudson Valley families. From the wrap-up of summer festivals to hot-air balloon rides, fairy walks, and more, our roundup of the best events this month will keep things hopping through Labor Day weekend, the start of Oktoberfest, and Halloween season. Many of these are FREE!

To make September more exciting, we've rounded up our apple-picking guide and compiled 100 lunch ideas to get those back-to-school juices flowing. We've also assembled a guide to classes for kids to keep them active and enriched all season.

As always, we recommend booking event tickets in advance to avoid disappointment and confirming all the details with the venue before heading out. Now, grab your calendar and read on to avoid missing out on these standout September events. For even more to choose from, head to our activities calendar.

Be sure to subscribe to our newsletters to get resources like this delivered to your inbox!

Places featured in this article:


Sterling Forest
upcoming events
(Sat Aug 21, 2021 - Sun Oct 3, 2021) New York Renaissance Faire

Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Church

Van Cortlandt Manor
upcoming events
(Fri Sep 17, 2021 - Sun Nov 21, 2021) The Great Jack O'Lantern Blaze

Muscoot Farm
upcoming events
(Sun Oct 17, 2021) Boo Walk

Riverfront Green Park - Peekskill

Washington's Headquarters State Historic Site

Greenburgh Nature Center
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 25, 2021 - Sat Oct 2, 2021) Run Wild
(Sat Oct 23, 2021 - Sun Oct 24, 2021) Fall Festival
(Sat Nov 13, 2021 - Sun Nov 14, 2021) Holiday Market
Happy Helpers
Muscoot Farm - 10:00 AM Pick
The Great Jack O'Lantern Blaze
Van Cortlandt Manor - various times Pick
Outdoor Family Storytime in South Salem
Lewisboro Library - 10:30 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides