The Bellmore Family Street Festival has carnival rides and plenty more fun for kids. Photo by author
The Bellmore Family Street Festival has carnival rides and plenty more fun for kids. Photo by author

Best Fall Festivals and Fairs for Long Island Families in 2021

It’s festival season on Long Island, and we’ve put together a list of some of the best fall festivals and fairs taking place this September and October.

The leaves soon will turn and the smell of apple cider donuts and roasted corn will be in the air. Soon, kids will have to put on an extra layer to keep warm, but no one really will mind if it means enjoying ;a seasonal treat and spending some family time outside. So grab the family, grab a sweater, and enjoy this in-between season before the real chill sets in.

No matter where you live—Nassau, Suffolk, or the East End—autumn on Long Island is beautiful, and there’s plenty of family fun to be had. Check out our fall fun guide for more ideas.

Sign up for our FREE newsletters to get the best local events and reviews delivered right to your inbox.

Places featured in this article:


Garden of Eve Organic Farm & Market

Port Jefferson Harbor

Bellmore Long Island Railroad Station
upcoming events
(Thu Sep 23, 2021 - Sun Sep 26, 2021) Bellmore Family Street Festival

Longwood Estate
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 25, 2021 - Sun Sep 26, 2021) Longwood Fair

upcoming events
(Thu Sep 23, 2021 - Sun Sep 26, 2021) Sag Harbor American Music Festival

Wildwood State Park
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 25, 2021) Wildwood Fall Festival

Phelps Lane Park
upcoming events

Farmingdale Village
upcoming events
(Sat Oct 2, 2021 - Sun Oct 3, 2021) Shakespeare on the Green
(Thu Oct 7, 2021 - Mon Oct 11, 2021) Farmingdale Columbus Day Fair

Heckscher Park
upcoming events
(Fri Oct 8, 2021 - Mon Oct 11, 2021) Long Island Fall Festival

Center For Science Teaching And Learning CSTL
upcoming events

Montauk Village Green
upcoming events
(Sat Oct 9, 2021 - Sun Oct 10, 2021) Montauk Chamber of Commerce Fall Family Festival

Garden of Eve Farm
upcoming events
(Sat Oct 16, 2021 - Sun Oct 17, 2021) Oktoberfest at Garden of Eve

Sands Point Preserve
upcoming events
(Sat May 15, 2021 - Sun Jun 19, 2022) Wilderness Survival for Families at Sands Point Preserve

Train Station Parking Area/Street
upcoming events
(Fri Oct 22, 2021 - Sun Oct 24, 2021) Merrick Fall Fest & Street Fair

Hicks Nurseries
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 18, 2021 - Sun Oct 31, 2021) Fall Harvest and Otto the Ghost at Hicks Nurseries

The Shoppes at East Wind
upcoming events
(Sat Sep 18, 2021 - Sun Oct 31, 2021) Fall Festival Weekends at The Shoppes at East Wind
Library of Congress National Book Festival
Library of Congress and Virtual - 9:00 AM Pick
Story + Art at LICM
Long Island Children's Museum - 11:30 AM Pick
Halloween Drive-Thru at Stew's
Farmingdale Stew Leonard's - 11:00 AM Pick
Port Outdoors Dine & Shop
Main Street and Port Commons - 4:00 PM Pick
Bellmore Family Street Festival
Bellmore Long Island Railroad Station - various times Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides