DC public school kids return to the classroom on Monday, August 30.
DC public school kids return to the classroom on Monday, August 30.

Here's the DC Public School Calendar for 2021-2022

The 2020-2021 school year brought about many COVID-induced changes for public school students and their families—virtual and hybrid learning, quarantines and closures, and a great deal of uncertainty. With the 2021-2022 school year just weeks away, DC Public Schools are planning a return to five days of in-person learning, with masks required for all students and staff. DC's public school calendar for 2021-2022 is below. Bookmark it now to help with planning family vacations and school break camp coverage—and cross your fingers that nothing changes!

Here is the 2021-2022 DC public school calendar, including all of the dates you can count on your kiddos being out of school:

2021-22 DC Public School Calendar

Monday, August 30: First day of school

Tuesday, September 2: First day of school for Pre-K students

Monday, September 6: Labor Day, schools closed

Thursday, October 7: Parent teacher conference day, no school for students

Friday, October 8: Teacher planning day, no school for students

Monday, October 11: Indigenous Peoples' Day, schools closed

Tuesday, November 2: Election Day, schools closed

Friday, November 5: End of term, no school for students

Thursday, November 11: Veterans Day, schools closed

Wednesday, November 24-Friday, November 26: Thanksgiving Break, schools closed

Thursday, December 23-Friday, December 31: Winter Break, schools closed

Monday, January 17: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day, schools closed

Wednesday, January 26:End of term, no school for students

Monday, February 21-Friday, February 25: Midwinter Break, schools closed

Thursday, March 10: Parent teacher conference day, no school for students

Friday, March 11: Teacher planning day, no school for students

Monday, April 11-Friday, April 15: Spring Break, schools closed

Monday, April 18: End of term, no school for students

Monday, May 30: Memorial Day, schools closed

Wednesday, June 22: Last day of school 

Among the other public school districts in the DC metro area, the school calendars vary. While most districts begin their school year between August 17 and August 30, a few have already started. And then there's the outlier, Prince George's County Public Schools in Maryland, which doesn't start up again until September 8! Here are links to the calendars for the other large public school districts in the DC metro area:

Northern Virginia Public School Calendars

Fairfax County Public Schools

Arlington Public Schools

Loudoun County Public Schools

Alexandria City Public Schools

Falls Church City Public Schools 

Prince William County Public Schools

Manassas Park City Public Schools

Manassas City Public Schools

Stafford County Public Schools

Fredericksburg City Schools

Maryland Public School Calendars

Montgomery County Public Schools

Charles County Public Schools

Prince George’s County Public Schools

Frederick County Public Schools

And, keep kids learning year-round with our Classes and Enrichment Guide

LuminoCity Festival: Shine Again
Roer's Zoofari - 6:00 PM Pick
Halloween Safari
Leopold's Preserve - 7:00 PM Pick
Horror on Capitol Hill
Scary DC - 8:30 PM Pick
Pumpkin Patch Express
B&O Railroad Museum - various times Pick
Great Country Farms Harvest Festival
Great Country Farms - 9:00 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides