< Event Calendar

Pepperdine 9/11 Flag Memorial 2020

Wed Sep 9, 2020
Various times
All ages
Free

Each year, Pepperdine fills its green hillside on PCH with 2,977 flags, to commemorate the victims of the terrorist attack on September 11, 2001. The vision of thousands of flags flapping in unison in the sea breeze is beautiful, inspiring, and memorable, and can be a great way to introduce the idea of a 9/11 memorial to children.

Though the flags are being installed in 2020, the display this year is "closed to the public."  An online service to honor those who perished in the historic tragedy is being held via Livestream on the 9/11 Memorial Service website at 10am Pacific (12noon Central, 1pm Eastern) on Sept. 11.

The flags are displayed on Pepperdine University’s Alumni Park at the corner of Pacific Coast Highway and Malibu Canyon Road.

The flags remain up until September 21.


Pepperdine University
24255 Pacific Coast Highway
Malibu, CA 90263
** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
Cayton Creators Outdoor Community Program
Cayton Children's Museum - 10:00 AM Pick
Weekend Scenic Train Ride
Fillmore & Western Railway - 10:00 AM Pick
Knott's Taste of Fall-O-Ween
Knott's Berry Farm - 12:00 PM Pick
American Girl: Meet Courtney Moore
American Girl Store at the Grove - 12:00 PM Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides