The Children’s Garden at the Morton Arboretum has a musical springtime adventure!  Photo courtesy of the Arboreum
The Children’s Garden at the Morton Arboretum has a musical springtime adventure! Photo courtesy of the Arboreum

Best Things To Do in Chicago in April with Kids: Earth Day, Fishing, Spring Nature Walks

Spring has sprung and it's time to go outside! We've got tons of ideas for spring break, both around town and with scenery changing local day trips. And April kicks off with all the Easter egg hunts you can handle, plus pictures with the Easter Bunny. When you're tired of looking for Easter eggs, take the kids to search for birds in North Park or gnomes in River Forest. Throughout the month there are loads of nature walks, including some evening hikes in Warrenville and Oak Brook. These all lead perfectly into Earth Day on April 22, which you can celebrate at LaBagh Woods, Maple Lake, or BackYard Nature Center.

If you're still not ready for in-person events, now is a great time take a family hike. As vaccination eligibility opens for Illinois residents over 16 on April 12, we can start to look forward to more get-togethers and activities in the very near future—so keep an eye on the Mommy Poppins Event Calendar. And don't forget to get booking those summer camps. Slots are going fast for the 2021 season! Learn more about local and virtual summer camps with our upcoming Online Camp Fair. Visit virtual booths and watch live camp demos.

While we are trying to promote safer activities that occur outdoors or with social distancing guidelines in place, please keep your family and others safe by always wearing a mask and maintaining an appropriate distance. If you arrive at an event that appears too crowded, try using the “nearby” search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do.

Places featured in this article:


JoJo's Shake Bar
upcoming events
(Wed Feb 3, 2021 - Fri Apr 30, 2021) Candyland at JoJo's Shake Bar

North Park Village Nature Center
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 3, 2021 - Sat Apr 24, 2021) Spring Migration Bird Walks

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center

St. James Farm Forest Preserve
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 10, 2021 - Sat Jun 5, 2021) Lantern-Lit Night HIke

Morton Arboretum
upcoming events
(Tue Apr 20, 2021 - Thu May 6, 2021) Family Field Trips

360 Chicago Observation Deck
upcoming events
(Mon Mar 1, 2021 - Fri Apr 30, 2021) Apart, Together

St. James Farm Forest Preserve
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 22, 2021) Earth Day Stroll

Maple Lake Boating Center
upcoming events

Coyote Crossing Mini Golf
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Candy Land Trail

Warrenville Recreation Center
upcoming events
(Sun Apr 25, 2021) Wiffle Ball Home Run Derby

Trailside Museum of Natural History
upcoming events
(Sun Apr 25, 2021 - Sat May 1, 2021) Going on a Gnome Hunt

Mayslake Peabody Estate
upcoming events
(Mon Apr 26, 2021 - Thu Jun 24, 2021) Mayslake by Moonlight

Lincoln Park Conservatory
upcoming events

Kline Creek Farm
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 1, 2021 - Mon Jun 28, 2021) The Progressive Farm: A Barnyard Tour

Garfield Park Conservatory
upcoming events
(Sat Feb 27, 2021 - Sun May 9, 2021) Spring Flower Show: Saturation

Brookfield Zoo
upcoming events
(Thu Aug 27, 2020 - Mon Sep 6, 2021) Dinos Everywhere!

Naper Settlement
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 1, 2021 - Sun Oct 31, 2021) Time Travel at Naper Settlement

Morton Arboretum
upcoming events
(Fri Apr 9, 2021 - Thu Mar 31, 2022) Human + Nature
EarthFest
Online - various times Pick
EarthFest Online
American Museum of Natural History Online - various times Pick
Earth Day Stroll
St. James Farm Forest Preserve - 10:00 AM
LaBagh Woods Earth Day Celebration
LaBagh Woods - 12:00 PM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides