Have fun as a family, fishing at Lake Fairfax Park. Photo courtesy of Fairfax County
Have fun as a family, fishing at Lake Fairfax Park. Photo courtesy of Fairfax County

The Best Things to Do in DC in June with Kids

June is bustin' out all over as the reopening continues. Families can now once again visit beloved DC icons such as the National Zoo, the National Museum of Natural History, and the National Museum of the American Indian. And more museums are opening this month, as COVID continues to retreat.

Manassas' Heritage Railway Fest and Furfax Fido Fest return live and-in-person this year, and the Washington Folk Festival and the Smithsonian Folklike Fest are back as well, but still virtual.

Watch free outdoor movies in Fairfax, Alexandria, and Chantilly, or catch a free Cold War SciFi Film at the Navy Museum. The piece de resistance? Early pre-July 4 fireworks at Mount Vernon.

Stay cool, and keep an eye on the calendar as more events pile in.

 

Places featured in this article:


Ellanor C. Lawrence Park
upcoming events
(Sun Jun 27, 2021) Bluetiful Birds

Historic Downtown Manassas

National Museum of the U.S. Navy
upcoming events
(Sat Jun 5, 2021 - Sat Jul 31, 2021) Cold War SciFi Film Series

Glen Echo Park online

Van Dyck Park
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 11, 2021 - Fri Sep 10, 2021) Movies under the Moon

Lake Accotink
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 11, 2021 - Fri Aug 27, 2021) Campfire Fridays

Various locations
upcoming events
(Tue Jun 22, 2021 - Tue Aug 17, 2021) Movie Night in Chantilly

Old Town Square
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 25, 2021 - Fri Oct 1, 2021) Rock the Block

The National Mall Online
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 25, 2021 - Sun Jun 27, 2021) Virtual Smithsonian Folklife Festival

Mount Vernon
upcoming events
(Sat Jun 19, 2021 - Sun Jun 20, 2021) Father's Day Weekend at Mount Vernon
(Fri Jun 25, 2021 - Sat Jun 26, 2021) Independence Fireworks
(Sun Jul 4, 2021) An American Celebration

Alexandria Drive-In Theater
upcoming events
(Fri Jun 4, 2021 - Sat Jun 26, 2021) Alexandria Drive-In Movies
Georgetown GLOW
Georgetown - 10:00 AM Pick
Paleo Playdates
The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University - 10:00 AM Pick
Juneteenth-Forgotten Road Tours
Sully Historic Site - various times Pick
Renewal 2121
Artechouse - 10:00 AM
Shoe Tying Made Simple
Virtual - 1:00 PM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides