< Event Calendar

Day of Ancestors: Festival of Masks Community Workshops

Sat Jul 11, 2020
Various times
All
Free

This summer, Day of the Ancestors: Festival of Masks goes online to celebrate the rich traditions of the African Diaspora and connect families with Black creatives from across the globe. 

Each Saturday, a series of Community Arts Workshops are offered throughout the day. Sign up at the links below to receive Zoom information.

South African Cultural Arts Live
10am Pacific, (12pm Central, 1pm Eastern)

Ancestor Mask Making
11am Pacific, (1pm Central, 2pm Eastern)

African Diasporic Movement
12pm Pacific, (2pm Central, 3pm Eastern)

African Diasporic Rhythm and Song
1pm Pacific (3pm Central, 4pm Eastern)

Leimert Park’s Day of the Ancestors: Festival of the Mask is an annual celebration of the ancestors and an invocation for the South Central LA community. Founded in 2010 by artists Najite Agindotan, Rene Fisher-Mims, and Ben Caldwell in collaboration with LACommons, FOM is a multicultural, multigenerational, and multimedia arts event that champions the vast identities of the African diaspora.

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
Dino Fest at Home
- 9:30 AM Pick
Mozart for Munchkins in Prospect Park
Prospect Park - 10:00 AM Pick
The Amazing Maize Maze at Queens County Farm
Queens County Farm Museum - 11:00 AM Pick
Jack and the Beanstalk
Puppetworks Inc. - 12:30 PM Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides