Sonic Sensation at LICM

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday and every Thursday until Thu May 02 2019. Also includes Sun Jan 27 2019.
Saturday, January 26, 2019 Various times
Sunday, January 27, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 Various times
Thursday, January 31, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Various times
Thursday, February 7, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 Various times
Thursday, February 14, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 Various times
Thursday, February 21, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 Various times
Thursday, February 28, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 7, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 14, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 4, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 11, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 2, 2019 Various times
Event Info
Cost: 
Free with museum admission ($14)
Contact Phone: 
516-224-5800
Recommended Age: 
3 and up
Editor's Pick: 

The newest LICM traveling exhibit offers children the opportunity to see, feel, and hear sound. 

Visitors will experience the sonic world while exploring 14 interactive learning stations. Children will discover key listening skills through the science of sound and hearing.

What You’ll Do:

•    Test your lung power in the Scream Chamber!
•    Create your own movie soundtrack 
•    Conduct an orchestra with your whole body
•    Learn about the anatomy and physics of how we hear.
•    Explore decibels, amplitude, pitch and sound waves. 
•    Find hidden “animals” in kitchen cupboards by listening (no peeking!) 
•    Discover ways you can protect your hearing.

On display through May 5.

Area/Neighborhood: 
Location: 
Long Island Children's Museum
11 Davis Ave.
11530 Garden City , NY
Phone: 516-224-5800
40° 43' 41.61" N, 73° 36' 3.2904" W
New York
Event Tags: