< Event Calendar

Nebraska's Memorial Day Observance 2020

Mon May 25, 2020
Various times
All
Free

Nebraska celebrates its "largest Memorial Day celebration with the fewest people present in the room."

As the state continues adhering to social distancing guidelines and limiting in-person gatherings to flatten the curve of COVID-19, families are invited to join in on Memorial Day by tuning in online.

During the Memorial Day Observance live stream, a candle will be lit by Gold Star Mother Monica Alexander at 8am and remain lit until 8pm when it is extinguished by Gold Star Father Mel Alexander. Their son, Army Corporal Matthew Alexander of Gretna, was killed May 6, 2007, when an improvised explosive device detonated near his vehicle in Baqubah Iraq.

8am to 8pm Central  (9am to 9pm Eastern, 6am to 6pm Pacific)

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
16th Annual KidsFilmFest
Online - various times Pick
Save with Stories
Facebook & Instagram - various times Pick
Explore Green-Wood: Scavenger Hunts for Families
Green-Wood Cemetery - various times Pick
Activity Guides