And in This Corner: Cassius Clay

Mon Apr 26, 2021
Various times
Grades 4 & up
Free; suggested donation of $20
Atlantic Theater Company

Every hero starts somewhere. For 12-year-old Cassius Clay Jr., who would become the sports legend known to the world as Muhammad Ali, it was a boxing gym in Louisville, Kentucky.

And in This Corner: Cassius Clay tells the story of how a determined young boy growing up in the Jim Crow South took on all challengers in his path to becoming...The Greatest. And in This Corner: Cassius Clay explores an unlikely hero and the remarkable community that helped create him.

This stage play turned four-part episodic audio drama by playwright, rapper and poet Idris Goodwin is recommended for grades 4 and up but is welcome to all. 

Reservations are free with a suggested donation of $20. A viewing link is sent via email.

The show is available streaming April 26 through May 24.  Listening parties are held May 1, 8, 15 and 22 at 10:30am Eastern (9:30am Central, 7:30am Pacific.

 

 

** Activity dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the activity website to verify.
** Please keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and social distancing. If an activity appears too crowded, try using the "nearby" search feature on our activity calendar to find something else to do.
17th Annual Kids Film Fest
Online - various times
Andell Family Sundays Anytime
LACMA's Unframed Blog - various times
Stemtastic Virtual Birthday Parties
stemtastic - various times
Zumbini with Jan Virtual Birthday Party
Zoom - Online - various times
Activity Guides