< Event Calendar

National WWI Museum Memorial Day Events

Mon May 25, 2020
Various times
All
Free

The National WWI Museum and Memorial in Kansas City presents a schedule of free online streams in honor of Memorial Day.

Memorial Day Ceremony:
This ceremony features remarks from dignitaries such as Kansas City Mayor Quinton Lucas, musical performances from Kansas City native and Nashville recording artist Casi Joy (NBC’s ‘The Voice’) and much more.
10am Central,  (11am Eastern, 8am Pacific)

Bell Tolling;
The bell used for this ceremony was originally located at a federal building in downtown Kansas City and was rung daily by the Daughters of the American Revolution during US involvement in WWI (1917-1918). It was also tolled 11 times at 11 a.m. on Nov. 11, 1926, during the dedication ceremony of the Liberty Memorial and again on Nov. 11, 2018, to commemorate the centennial of the WWI armistice.
Noon Central, (1pm Eastern, 10am Pacific)

Dedication Ceremony:
This ceremony dedicates nearly 100 new granite bricks on the Walk of Honor, which has sections for World War I veterans, veterans of any service, and civilian organizations, friends and family. 
2pm Central, (3pm Eastern, 12 noon Pacific)

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
16th Annual KidsFilmFest
Online - various times Pick
Save with Stories
Facebook & Instagram - various times Pick
Explore Green-Wood: Scavenger Hunts for Families
Green-Wood Cemetery - various times Pick
Activity Guides