Family Sundays at the Rubin Museum

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Aug 27 2017.
Sunday, May 7, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, May 14, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, May 21, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, May 28, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, June 4, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, June 11, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, June 18, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, June 25, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, July 2, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, July 9, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, July 16, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, July 23, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, July 30, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, August 6, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, August 13, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, August 20, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, August 27, 2017 -
1:00pm to 4:00pm
Event Info
Cost: 
Free
Contact Phone or Email: 
lcraft@rmanyc.org
Recommended Age: 
3 and older
Editor's Pick: 

Sundays are for families! Bring your family to the Rubin Museum for a Sunday afternoon full of family-friendly activities. Drop into the Education Center for some art-making, enjoy their 2:00 p.m. family exhibition tour, and go on your own thematic gallery search.

May:
Mottled and Marbled
Many cultures throughout Asia have traditions of paper marbling. Join Family Sundays in May to create unique sheets of marbled paper inspired by the topographical works featured in the Sacred Spaces: Himalayan Wind Sacred Spaces exhibition.

June:
Beauty in Blueprints & the Buddha’s Birthday
Visit the Rubin any Sunday in June to make elegant photograms through a camera-less photographic process inspired by the exhibition Henri Cartier-Bresson: India in Full Frame. Impress elements of nature or personal objects onto paper to for a fun and effortless print. Celebrate the birth, enlightenment, and parinirvana of the Buddha Shakyamuni through the festival Saka Dawa. To honor the Buddha, use sacred geometry to create detailed, blueprint-like drawings of the Buddha.

July:
Instruments of Our Own
For thousands of years, humans have been making and playing musical instruments, constantly inventing new ones and modifying existing ones to produce different sounds. To coincide with the Museum’s exhibition The World Is Sound, create your own musical instruments at Family Sundays this July, and build upon this timeless tradition.

August:
Bonds of Protection
Create symbols of protection that represent your bond with friends and family. In honor of the Hindu festival Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) this August, make your own wearable adornments inspired by traditional rakhi styles, friendship bracelets, and even gau (amulet boxes) from the Museum’s collection.

 

Area/Neighborhood: 
location: 
The Rubin Museum of Art
132 West 17th Street
10011 New York , NY
Phone: 212-620-5000
40° 44' 23.8272" N, 73° 59' 49.5636" W
New York
Event Tags: