Family Sundays at the Rubin Museum: EARTH PAINTING

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday until Sun Apr 29 2018 except Sun Dec 24 2017, Sun Dec 31 2017.
Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 4, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 11, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 18, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, February 25, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 4, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 11, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 18, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 1, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 8, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 15, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Sunday, April 29, 2018 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Event Info
Cost: 
Free
Recommended Age: 
3 and older
Editor's Pick: 

Sundays are for families! Bring your family to the Rubin Museum for a Sunday afternoon full of family-friendly activities. Drop into the Education Center for some art-making, enjoy the 2pm family exhibition tour, and go on your own thematic gallery search.

FEBRUARY SUNDAYS: EARTH PAINTING
Celebrate Losar, the Tibetan New Year, and the lunar sign for 2018, the Earth Dog, by painting with the most basic element: mud! Play with materials taken from the earth and then plant your very own Losar Metok, Tibet’s winter flower! See how the Metok grows through time.   

MARCH SUNDAYS: SPLASHES OF NEON
March means it’s time to celebrate the festival of Holi by creating a dazzling landscape of colors. Inspired by A Lost Future exhibition artist Shezad Dawood, who plays with neon and virtual reality, create your own vibrant realities with glow in the dark tape and splashes of neon bubbles to shape a new, colorful perception of our world.

APRIL SUNDAYS: TREASURES FROM THE EARTH
Let’s create hidden treasures, inspired by The Second Buddha: Master of Time—an exhibition all about such treasures. Padmasambhava, the Second Buddha, hid his divine teachings to be discovered by the right person at the right moment. April is the time for Guru Purnima, a festival celebrated by Hindus, Jains, and Buddhists that takes place on the night of the full moon. As springtime reveals treasures from the earth, we’ll use vegetables as tools to print phases of the moon.

 

Area/Neighborhood: 
location: 
The Rubin Museum of Art
132 West 17th Street
10011 New York , NY
Phone: 212-620-5000
40° 44' 23.8272" N, 73° 59' 49.5636" W
New York
Event Tags: