< Event Calendar

Community Day: MLK Jr. Day Celebration—Breaking Down Barriers

Mon Jan 18, 2021
Various times
All ages
FREE

The Newark Museum of Art's virtual celebration honors the life and legacy of one of this nation’s greatest heroes: Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. This year highlights how barriers were broken with a woman of color and Asian descent soon to become Vice President of the United States.

Virtual activities include:

  • Music performances
  • Hair Love Artmaking
  • Create Sneakers that send a message
  • Evolution of African American Music
  • Trivia Game

See website for registration information.
Activities begin at 10am Eastern, 9am Central, 7am Pacific. 

Community Days are presented by Horizon Foundation for New Jersey

Día de la Comunidad: Celebración del Día de MLK Jr.--Derribando barreras
Presentado por Horizon Foundation for New Jersey
 
La celebración de la vida y el legado del Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. pone de relieve cómo se derribaron las barreras, y se siguen derribando de la mano de una mujer de color y ascendencia asiática que ahora se convertirá en vicepresidenta de los Estados Unidos.


 


The Newark Museum of Art
49 Washington Street
Newark, NJ 07102
** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
** Please keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and social distancing. If an event appears too crowded, try using the "nearby" search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do.
Right to Vote
Children's Museum of Manattan - 10:00 AM Pick
Monuments Now
Socrates Sculpture Park - 9:00 AM
P.S. Art: Celebrating the Creative Spirit of NYC Kids
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - 1:00 PM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides