< Event Calendar

CalTech Virtual Astronomy Lecture

Fri Sep 4, 2020
Various times
12 and up
Free

Why is the expansion of the Universe getting faster? Could it be Einstein was...wrong?

Cosmologist Agnes Fertes explains her work in the Dark Energy Survey, from observing galaxies at a large telescope in Chile to doing intense computations on supercomputers.

October 9: Trying to Prove Einstein Wrong

Caltech's Stargazing Lecture series are now held virtually on YouTube Live. These events  consist of a 30-minute science lecture, followed by 90 minutes of Q&A with an expert panel of scientists.While in-person stargazing isn't possible, viewers are given an update and visualization of astronomical targets viewable in the evening sky.  

These events are open to all and held at the level of a layperson with no science background. Children are welcome to join, although some of the material may be a little bit advanced, depending on the topic of the month.

7pm -9pm Pacific,  9pm - 11pm Central, 10pm - 12am Eastern 


 

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
Mommy Poppins' Back to School Fair 2020
Online - various times Pick
Monuments Now
Socrates Sculpture Park - 9:00 AM
Carnegie Diner Pumpkin Patch
Carnegie Diner - 9:00 AM
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides