Griffith Observatory Tribute to Apollo's 50th Anniversary

Bootprint on the Lunar Surface   A close-up view of astronaut Buzz Aldrin's bootprint in the lunar soil, photographed with the 70mm lunar surface camera during Apollo 11's sojourn on the moon.   Image Credit: NASA
Repeats every day until Wed Jul 24 2019 except Sun Jul 14 2019, Mon Jul 15 2019, Tue Jul 23 2019.
Saturday, July 13, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 Various times
Thursday, July 18, 2019 Various times
Friday, July 19, 2019 Various times
Saturday, July 20, 2019 Various times
Sunday, July 21, 2019 Various times
Monday, July 22, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Various times
Event Info
Cost: 
Most events free; Screenings: $20 - $75
Recommended Age: 
5 and up

The weekend's events include a range of talks about our past, present and future on the Moon.  

On July 16, 1969, a powerful Saturn V rocket launched three men from Earth to the Moon where, for the first time in history, people walked on the surface of another world. The historic Apollo 11 mission was a giant leap in a journey of exploration that continues today. Griffith Observatory celebrates with ten days of special programs, exhibits, family activities, and photo opportunities.

The historic mission to put an astronaut on the Moon launched on July 16, 1969. Just four days later, July 20, 1969, Commander Neil Armstrong and lunar module pilot Buzz Aldrin made history as the first men to step foot on the moon. The mission also successfully collected the first lunar samples brought back to earth.

Events are free and open to the public. All Space Considered Remembers Apollo 10 will also be streamed live on Griffith Observatory TV

Event Schedule:

July 13: Golden Moon Festival Kickoff: Golden Moon Star Party (free) and Movie Screening (ticketed)

July 16:  All Space Considered Remembers Apollo 11

July 17: From California to the Moon

July 18: The Once and Future Moon

July 19: Apollo 11 Screening and Rooftop Moon Party (ticketed)

July 20: To Walk on the Moon: Past, Present, and Future (A day-long program of presentations, activities, and celebrations)

July 21: Moon Rush: The New Space Race

July 22: Into the Blue

July 24: All Space Considered Remembers Apollo 11

Image Credit: NASA

 

Griffith Observatory
2800 East Observatory Road
90027 Los Angeles , CA 34° 7' 6.1608" N, 118° 18' 1.2672" W
California