Stories at the Statue: Hans Christian Andersen Story Telling

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Sep 29 2018.
Saturday, June 2, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, June 16, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, June 23, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, June 30, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, July 7, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, July 21, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, July 28, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, August 11, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, August 18, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, August 25, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, September 8, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, September 15, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Event Info
Cost: 
FREE
Recommended Age: 
6 years and up
Editor's Pick: 

Stories at the Statue celebrates its 62nd year this summer, continuing a beloved legacy of sharing tales and music in Central Park. Storytelling is held rain or shine. The stories are appropriate for children six years and up. Parents or guardians are asked to sit with their children.

Full Schedule for 2018:

June 2
Laura Simms, Kewulay Kamara, and musician Salieu Suso
The Tin Soldier (Andersen) and Mother of the Waters (West African Tale)

June 9
Bill Gordh with guitar, and Mia Shelton
Little Red Riding Hood (Brothers Grimm

June 16
Regina Ress, Ellen Shapiro, and musician Larry Roland
The Most Incredible Thing of All (Andersen)

June 23
Theresa Plair, Jean Hale, and musician Euka Sharpe
The Ugly Duckling (Andersen) and a Haitian Tale

June 30
Joy Kelly and Mary Ann Schmidt
Sweet and Sour Berries and Wonder Tale (China)

July 7
Lise Marie Nedergaard and Laura Simms
Danish Tales and The Lindworm (Norwegian)

July 14
Robin Bady and Linda Humes
The Beetle (Andersen) and The Name of the Tree (West African)

July 21
Megan Wells
Pierogi (Polish)

July 28
Julia Della Torre and Navida Stein
The Swineherd (Andersen) and Pretty Pretty Cuckoo (Mexican)

August 4
Jackson Gilman
Just So Stories (Kipling)

August 11
The Story Crafters and Peninnah Schram
The Well at World’s End (Scottish) and The Honey Pots (Jewish)

August 18
Jane Dorfman and Laura Bobrow
Tom Cobble and Oony (English) and Vardiello (Italian)

August 25
David Gonzalez
Juan Bobo and the Pig (Puerto Rico)

September 1
Milbre Burch
The Pink Pearl Prince (Persia)

September 8
Curated by Rachel Zucker, featuring Melissa Heckler
A Celebration of Diane Wolkstein (various origins)

September 15
Luann Adams and Karen de Mauro
The Butterball (Norway) and Lucio Zenteno (Mexico)

September 22
Ron Sopyla and Rita Auerbach
The Snow Queen (Andersen) and The Fortune Teller (Moroccan)

September 29
Rolf Stang (as H C Andersen), Laura Simms and musician Andrew Forbes
The Ugly Duckling's Birthday Party and The Hedgehog (Brothers Grimm)

location: 
Hans Christian Andersen Statue
72nd Street & Fifth Avenue in Central Park
New York , NY 40° 46' 28.0488" N, 73° 58' 3.7236" W
New York