< Event Calendar

NASA’s Perseverance Rover Mars Landing

Thu Feb 18, 2021
Various times
All
Free

After a journey of 292.5 million miles, NASA's Perseverance Rover lands on Mars.

The six-wheeled robotic geologist is charged with searching the Jezero Crater for signs of ancient life and collecting samples that will eventually be returned to Earth.

Though we won't be getting quite this view, the landing is expected to go something like this.

NASA TV's coverage of the day is slated to begin at 2:15pm Eastern, 1:15pm Central, 11:15am Pacific

Mission controllers expect to receive confirmation that Perseverance has hit the top of the Martian atmosphere at around 3:48 pm Eastern (2:48pm Central, 12:48 pm Pacific) and that it has reached the surface at around 3:55 pm Eastern (2:55pm Central, 12:55 pm Pacific). 

 

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
** Please keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and social distancing. If an event appears too crowded, try using the "nearby" search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do.
Sports Blitz
Alley Pond Environmental Center - 10:30 AM Pick
Outdoor Skills: Animal Tracking
Salt Marsh Nature Center - 11:00 AM Pick
Fire Building - CANCELED
Van Cortlandt Park Nature Center - 1:00 PM Pick
What We Call Home: Teens Curate the Collection
Bronx Museum of the Arts - 1:00 PM Pick
Nature Exploration: Inwood Hill Park
Inwood Hill Park - 1:00 PM Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides