Get outside and enjoy the area's great trails during Celebrate Trails Day. Photo courtesy of CTwoodlands.org
Get outside and enjoy the area's great trails during Celebrate Trails Day. Photo courtesy of CTwoodlands.org

Activities To Get You Out of the House this Weekend in Philly: Earth Day, Treasure Hunt, Family Fun Nights

Mommy Poppins Philadelphia has a jam-packed event calendar, featuring fun for everyone in the family. You are not going to want to miss what is in store!

Get started by celebrating Earth Day, which falls on April 22 but is celebrated all weekend long. Families can remove invasive plants at Croydon Woods, participate in hands-on activities that explain the importance of clean water at The Viaduct, or learn about recycling at Elmwood Park Zoo. Want to explore the city? Take a walking tour of mural arts showcased throughout Philly. Or, go on an outdoor treasure hunt at Pennypacker Mills while spending time in nature. 

Your crew may be tired out with all of that activity, but not to worry. Refuel your family with sustenance from Linvilla Orchard's Spring Food Truck Frenzy or find a table at Morgan's Pier to eat by the waterfront as it opens for a 10th season. Finish off the weekend with a drive-in movie at Neumann University. Scroll through our top picks, text some friends, and make a plan for the weekend ahead.

Check out Poppins@Home if you plan to stay home. It features classes, workshops, and sessions for kids of all ages.

As COVID circumstances unfold, check directly with a venue website for updates before heading out. Keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and maintaining social distancing measures. If an event appears too crowded, try using the “nearby” search feature on our events calendar to find other exciting options. Note: Some photos in this post are from prior to the pandemic.  

Places featured in this article:


Morgan's Pier
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 22, 2021 - Sun Apr 25, 2021) Opening Weekend at Morgan’s Pier

One For All
upcoming events
(Fri Apr 23, 2021 - Sat Apr 24, 2021) Family Fridate
(Sat Apr 10, 2021 - Sat Apr 24, 2021) Family Art Hour

Delaware Children's Museum
upcoming events

Peace Valley Nature Center
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 17, 2021 - Sat Jun 19, 2021) Bird Walk
(Wed May 26, 2021) Moonlight Walk
(Thu Jun 17, 2021) Firefly Frolic

Linvilla Orchards
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Spring Food Truck Frenzy

The Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
upcoming events
(Wed Feb 3, 2021 - Wed Jun 16, 2021) Paleo Playdates
(Sat Feb 20, 2021 - Sat Jun 5, 2021) Naturally Awesome Days

Manayunk Bridge Trail
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Celebrate Trails Day

Schuylkill Center for Environmental Education
upcoming events

The Conservatory
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021) Storybook Concert Series

Elmwood Park Zoo
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021 - Sun Apr 25, 2021) Party for the Planet
(Sat May 8, 2021 - Sun May 9, 2021) Mother's Day Brunch at Elmwood Park Zoo

Kingsessing Library
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021 - Sat Aug 28, 2021) Outdoor Big Kid Storytime

Peace Valley Nature Center
upcoming events
(Sun Apr 18, 2021 - Sun Jun 20, 2021) Naturalist Foray

Hibernia Park
upcoming events
(Sun Apr 25, 2021) Making Critters

Sesame Place
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 24, 2021 - Sun Apr 25, 2021) Mummers Music Weekend at Sesame Place

Pennypacker Mills
upcoming events
(Wed Apr 7, 2021 - Sat May 22, 2021) Outdoor Treasure Hunt at Pennypacker Mills

John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge at Tinicum
Earth Day Volunteer Day
Bartram Gardens - 9:30 AM Pick
Virtual Children's Read Aloud
Brandywine River Museum - 10:30 AM Pick
Earth Day
The Brandywine Zoo - 11:00 AM Pick
EarthFest
Online - various times Pick
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides