< Event Calendar

Losar Family Day: Year of the Metal Ox

Sun Feb 7, 2021
Various times
All ages
FREE

Celebrate Losar, the Himalayan New Year, with an afternoon of art and fun online hosted by NYC's Rubin Museum. Learn about traditional Losar celebrations and this year’s zodiac animal, the wise and determined Metal Ox.

Join virtually to make your own ox horns using tinfoil, paint with flour to create your own lucky symbols, construct prayer flags with your own intentions, and let your creativity go wild!

The celebration also includes a cooking demonstration from the Rubin Museum’s Tashi Chodron, who teaches attendees to make Khapsey pastries, as well as a traditional Tibetan dance performance from children from the YindaYin School in Jackson Heights, Queens.

1pm-4pm Eastern
12pm-3pm Central
10am-1pm Pacific

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
** Please keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and social distancing. If an event appears too crowded, try using the "nearby" search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do.
Monuments Now
Socrates Sculpture Park - 9:00 AM
Sea Chantey Sing-Along
Zoom - various times
Reverberation
Brooklyn Bridge Park - various times
The Wild Side of STEAM
- various times
Electric Dandelions
South Street Seaport - various times
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides