< Event Calendar

Intrepid Museum's Virtual Astronomy LIVE

Thu May 21, 2020
Various times
10 and up
Free

The Intrepid Museum presents another "star-studded" installment of  Virtual Astronomy Live. Astronauts Garrett Reisman and Mike Massimino are on hand to preview the upcoming launch of Demo-2, the first crewed launch with NASA astronauts from U.S. soil since 2011.

 

The Demo-2 mission will represent a major breakthrough for Elon Musk’s SpaceX, which has launched spacecraft, satellites and cargo into space, but never astronauts. Demo-2 is set to liftoff for the International Space Station from Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 4:32 p.m. ET on May 27.

The launch, with NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley in a SpaceX Crew Dragon capsule on top of a Falcon 9 rocket, will mark the first time a rocket will carry astronauts into orbit from the United States since NASA's Space Shuttle program was retired almost a decade ago.

The livestream of the conversation can be watched online.  3pm Eastern ( 2pm Central, 12pm Pacific)

** Event dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the event website to verify.
16th Annual KidsFilmFest
Online - various times Pick
Save with Stories
Facebook & Instagram - various times Pick
Explore Green-Wood: Scavenger Hunts for Families
Green-Wood Cemetery - various times Pick
Activity Guides