'Go Run is always free!  ​Photo courtesy of CARA
'Go Run is always free! ​Photo courtesy of CARA

36 Awesome Things To Do in Chicago in May with Kids: Memorial Day, Lilacs, Mother's Day

Get ready for a lot of pictures of Justin Timberlake on your Facebook feed because It's Gonna Be May! And with that comes more chances to get outside, go running, see flowers, celebrate Mother's Day, and enjoy a nice long Memorial Day weekend. Runners (and kids with loads of energy) can take part in weekly free one-mile or 5k 'Go Runs, or do a run to benefit Brookfield Zoo. Lombard's Lilac Time Festival is back with a story stroll, heritage tour, and Lilac Queen Coronation. And there's plenty of socially distant fun available for Mother's Day, including a picnic on the porch in Oak Park, family photos along the Chicago River, and fishing in Downers Grove.

If you're not quite ready for organized events, you can still enjoy a day at the zoo or farm. And there are also lots of fun places to go zip lining, hiking, or swimming this spring. Just remember to continue wearing a mask and practicing social distancing for a little longer, until everyone has a chance to get vaccinated.

While we are trying to promote safer activities that occur outdoors or with social distancing guidelines in place, please keep your family and others safe by always wearing a mask and maintaining an appropriate distance. If you arrive at an event that appears too crowded, try using the “nearby” search feature on our event calendar to find something else to do

Places featured in this article:


Warren Park
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sat May 22, 2021) 'Go Run

Humboldt Park
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sat May 22, 2021) 'Go Run

Jackson Park
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sat May 22, 2021) 'Go Run

Walsh Park
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sat May 22, 2021) 'Go Run

Fronternac Drive
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sun May 16, 2021) Soap Box Derby 2021 Spring Rally

St. James Farm Forest Preserve
upcoming events
(Sat Apr 10, 2021 - Sat Jun 5, 2021) Lantern-Lit Night Hike

Navy Pier
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sat May 29, 2021) Navy Pier Fireworks

Lombard Historical Society
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Sun May 16, 2021) Lilac Heritage Tours

Kline Creek Farm
upcoming events
(Thu Apr 1, 2021 - Mon Jun 28, 2021) The Progressive Farm: A Barnyard Tour

Kline Creek Farm
upcoming events
(Sun May 2, 2021 - Sun May 30, 2021) Sheep Shearing Day at Kline Creek Farm

Lilacia Park
upcoming events
(Sat May 1, 2021 - Mon May 31, 2021) Lilac Time Story Stroll

95th Street Plaza
upcoming events
(Mon May 3, 2021 - Mon May 24, 2021) Naperville Family Story Time in the Park

Helen Plum Public Library
upcoming events
(Mon May 3, 2021 - Mon May 24, 2021) S.T.E.M.onade Stand

Cosley Zoo
upcoming events
(Wed Jan 20, 2021 - Wed May 19, 2021) Bookworms at Cosley Zoo

Trailside Museum of Natural History
upcoming events
(Sun May 9, 2021 - Sun May 23, 2021) Haiku Walk at the Trailside Museum of Natural History

DuPage County Historical Museum
upcoming events
(Sat Nov 21, 2020 - Sat Dec 17, 2022) Train Saturdays Model Train Display

Colvin House
upcoming events
(Fri May 21, 2021 - Sun Jun 6, 2021) Pivot Art Festival

Trailside Museum of Natural History
upcoming events
(Sat May 22, 2021 - Sun May 30, 2021) Children's Story Trail and Craft: Kite Flying

Mayslake Peabody Estate
upcoming events
(Mon Apr 26, 2021 - Thu Jun 24, 2021) Mayslake by Moonlight

Germania Club Building
upcoming events
(Sat May 29, 2021 - Sun May 30, 2021) Yoga at Immersive Van Gogh

Hyde Park Art Center
upcoming events
(Mon Apr 26, 2021 - Sun Jul 18, 2021) The Metamorphosis of Gabriel Villa

Lake Ellyn Park & Boathouse
Naperville Family Story Time in the Park
95th Street Plaza - 10:30 AM
Dinos Everywhere!
Brookfield Zoo - various times
The Progressive Farm: A Barnyard Tour
Kline Creek Farm - various times
Walkie Talkies
North Park Nature Sanctuary - various times
My Magic Breath
https://www.facebook.com/chipublib/live - various times
Neighborhood Guides
Activity Guides