Tokyo Summer Olympics Opening Ceremony

Fri Jul 23, 2021
Various times
All
Free
NBC TV

Okay, let's get this out of the way. They call it the 2020 Tokyo Summer Olympics Opening Ceremony. But you know and I know it's 2021. We've all agreed to act like 2020 never happened, so here we are at the {wink wink} 2020 Olympic Games. 

Don't feel bad about not seeing the games in person, almost no one is. We're all once again bonding by having the shared experience of watching everything online.

The opening ceremony is at 8pm on July 23 local Tokyo time. Which means, those of us watching in the US are either watching in the wee hours or watching a tape delayed rebroadcast.  

So when can you watch the Opening Ceremony and "go for the gold"?

Live: 7am Eastern, 6am Central, 4am Pacific early early Friday July 23.

Rebroadcast: NBC’s primetime Opening Ceremony presentation begins at 7:30pm Eastern, 6:30pm Central, 4:30pm Pacific, followed by an overnight replay.

Olympic events can be viewed on NBC and streaming on Peacock.

The Olympics conclude on August 8.   

 

** Activity dates/times are subject to change. Please click through to the activity website to verify.
** Please keep your family and others safe by wearing masks and social distancing. If an activity appears too crowded, try using the "nearby" search feature on our activity calendar to find something else to do.
Activity Guides