T. rex: The Ultimate Predator

Event Date: 
Repeats every week every Sunday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday and every Saturday until Sun Aug 09 2020 except Thu Jul 04 2019, Thu Nov 21 2019, Wed Dec 25 2019, Wed Jan 01 2020.
Monday, March 11, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 14, 2019 Various times
Friday, March 15, 2019 Various times
Saturday, March 16, 2019 Various times
Sunday, March 17, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Various times
Friday, March 22, 2019 Various times
Saturday, March 23, 2019 Various times
Sunday, March 24, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Various times
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Various times
Friday, March 29, 2019 Various times
Saturday, March 30, 2019 Various times
Sunday, March 31, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 4, 2019 Various times
Friday, April 5, 2019 Various times
Saturday, April 6, 2019 Various times
Sunday, April 7, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 11, 2019 Various times
Friday, April 12, 2019 Various times
Saturday, April 13, 2019 Various times
Sunday, April 14, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Various times
Friday, April 19, 2019 Various times
Saturday, April 20, 2019 Various times
Sunday, April 21, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Various times
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Various times
Friday, April 26, 2019 Various times
Saturday, April 27, 2019 Various times
Sunday, April 28, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 2, 2019 Various times
Friday, May 3, 2019 Various times
Saturday, May 4, 2019 Various times
Sunday, May 5, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, May 8, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 9, 2019 Various times
Friday, May 10, 2019 Various times
Saturday, May 11, 2019 Various times
Sunday, May 12, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 16, 2019 Various times
Friday, May 17, 2019 Various times
Saturday, May 18, 2019 Various times
Sunday, May 19, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Various times
Friday, May 24, 2019 Various times
Saturday, May 25, 2019 Various times
Sunday, May 26, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 Various times
Thursday, May 30, 2019 Various times
Friday, May 31, 2019 Various times
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Various times
Sunday, June 2, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 Various times
Thursday, June 6, 2019 Various times
Friday, June 7, 2019 Various times
Saturday, June 8, 2019 Various times
Sunday, June 9, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 Various times
Thursday, June 13, 2019 Various times
Friday, June 14, 2019 Various times
Saturday, June 15, 2019 Various times
Sunday, June 16, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 Various times
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Various times
Friday, June 21, 2019 Various times
Saturday, June 22, 2019 Various times
Sunday, June 23, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Various times
Thursday, June 27, 2019 Various times
Friday, June 28, 2019 Various times
Saturday, June 29, 2019 Various times
Sunday, June 30, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 Various times
Friday, July 5, 2019 Various times
Saturday, July 6, 2019 Various times
Sunday, July 7, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 Various times
Thursday, July 11, 2019 Various times
Friday, July 12, 2019 Various times
Saturday, July 13, 2019 Various times
Sunday, July 14, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 Various times
Thursday, July 18, 2019 Various times
Friday, July 19, 2019 Various times
Saturday, July 20, 2019 Various times
Sunday, July 21, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 Various times
Thursday, July 25, 2019 Various times
Friday, July 26, 2019 Various times
Saturday, July 27, 2019 Various times
Sunday, July 28, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 Various times
Thursday, August 1, 2019 Various times
Friday, August 2, 2019 Various times
Saturday, August 3, 2019 Various times
Sunday, August 4, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, August 7, 2019 Various times
Thursday, August 8, 2019 Various times
Friday, August 9, 2019 Various times
Saturday, August 10, 2019 Various times
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, August 13, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Various times
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Various times
Friday, August 16, 2019 Various times
Saturday, August 17, 2019 Various times
Sunday, August 18, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Various times
Thursday, August 22, 2019 Various times
Friday, August 23, 2019 Various times
Saturday, August 24, 2019 Various times
Sunday, August 25, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 Various times
Thursday, August 29, 2019 Various times
Friday, August 30, 2019 Various times
Saturday, August 31, 2019 Various times
Sunday, September 1, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 Various times
Thursday, September 5, 2019 Various times
Friday, September 6, 2019 Various times
Saturday, September 7, 2019 Various times
Sunday, September 8, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 Various times
Thursday, September 12, 2019 Various times
Friday, September 13, 2019 Various times
Saturday, September 14, 2019 Various times
Sunday, September 15, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Various times
Thursday, September 19, 2019 Various times
Friday, September 20, 2019 Various times
Saturday, September 21, 2019 Various times
Sunday, September 22, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, September 24, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 Various times
Thursday, September 26, 2019 Various times
Friday, September 27, 2019 Various times
Saturday, September 28, 2019 Various times
Sunday, September 29, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 Various times
Thursday, October 3, 2019 Various times
Friday, October 4, 2019 Various times
Saturday, October 5, 2019 Various times
Sunday, October 6, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 Various times
Thursday, October 10, 2019 Various times
Friday, October 11, 2019 Various times
Saturday, October 12, 2019 Various times
Sunday, October 13, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, October 15, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, October 16, 2019 Various times
Thursday, October 17, 2019 Various times
Friday, October 18, 2019 Various times
Saturday, October 19, 2019 Various times
Sunday, October 20, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Various times
Thursday, October 24, 2019 Various times
Friday, October 25, 2019 Various times
Saturday, October 26, 2019 Various times
Sunday, October 27, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 Various times
Thursday, October 31, 2019 Various times
Friday, November 1, 2019 Various times
Saturday, November 2, 2019 Various times
Sunday, November 3, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 Various times
Thursday, November 7, 2019 Various times
Friday, November 8, 2019 Various times
Saturday, November 9, 2019 Various times
Sunday, November 10, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 Various times
Thursday, November 14, 2019 Various times
Friday, November 15, 2019 Various times
Saturday, November 16, 2019 Various times
Sunday, November 17, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Various times
Friday, November 22, 2019 Various times
Saturday, November 23, 2019 Various times
Sunday, November 24, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 Various times
Thursday, November 28, 2019 Various times
Friday, November 29, 2019 Various times
Saturday, November 30, 2019 Various times
Sunday, December 1, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Various times
Thursday, December 5, 2019 Various times
Friday, December 6, 2019 Various times
Saturday, December 7, 2019 Various times
Sunday, December 8, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 Various times
Thursday, December 12, 2019 Various times
Friday, December 13, 2019 Various times
Saturday, December 14, 2019 Various times
Sunday, December 15, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 Various times
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 Various times
Thursday, December 19, 2019 Various times
Friday, December 20, 2019 Various times
Saturday, December 21, 2019 Various times
Sunday, December 22, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 Various times
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Various times
Friday, December 27, 2019 Various times
Saturday, December 28, 2019 Various times
Sunday, December 29, 2019 Various times
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 Various times
Thursday, January 2, 2020 Various times
Friday, January 3, 2020 Various times
Saturday, January 4, 2020 Various times
Sunday, January 5, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 Various times
Thursday, January 9, 2020 Various times
Friday, January 10, 2020 Various times
Saturday, January 11, 2020 Various times
Sunday, January 12, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Various times
Thursday, January 16, 2020 Various times
Friday, January 17, 2020 Various times
Saturday, January 18, 2020 Various times
Sunday, January 19, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 Various times
Thursday, January 23, 2020 Various times
Friday, January 24, 2020 Various times
Saturday, January 25, 2020 Various times
Sunday, January 26, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, January 29, 2020 Various times
Thursday, January 30, 2020 Various times
Friday, January 31, 2020 Various times
Saturday, February 1, 2020 Various times
Sunday, February 2, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 Various times
Thursday, February 6, 2020 Various times
Friday, February 7, 2020 Various times
Saturday, February 8, 2020 Various times
Sunday, February 9, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 Various times
Thursday, February 13, 2020 Various times
Friday, February 14, 2020 Various times
Saturday, February 15, 2020 Various times
Sunday, February 16, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 Various times
Thursday, February 20, 2020 Various times
Friday, February 21, 2020 Various times
Saturday, February 22, 2020 Various times
Sunday, February 23, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 Various times
Thursday, February 27, 2020 Various times
Friday, February 28, 2020 Various times
Saturday, February 29, 2020 Various times
Sunday, March 1, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 Various times
Thursday, March 5, 2020 Various times
Friday, March 6, 2020 Various times
Saturday, March 7, 2020 Various times
Sunday, March 8, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 Various times
Thursday, March 12, 2020 Various times
Friday, March 13, 2020 Various times
Saturday, March 14, 2020 Various times
Sunday, March 15, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 Various times
Thursday, March 19, 2020 Various times
Friday, March 20, 2020 Various times
Saturday, March 21, 2020 Various times
Sunday, March 22, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, March 25, 2020 Various times
Thursday, March 26, 2020 Various times
Friday, March 27, 2020 Various times
Saturday, March 28, 2020 Various times
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 Various times
Thursday, April 2, 2020 Various times
Friday, April 3, 2020 Various times
Saturday, April 4, 2020 Various times
Sunday, April 5, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Various times
Thursday, April 9, 2020 Various times
Friday, April 10, 2020 Various times
Saturday, April 11, 2020 Various times
Sunday, April 12, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 Various times
Thursday, April 16, 2020 Various times
Friday, April 17, 2020 Various times
Saturday, April 18, 2020 Various times
Sunday, April 19, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Various times
Thursday, April 23, 2020 Various times
Friday, April 24, 2020 Various times
Saturday, April 25, 2020 Various times
Sunday, April 26, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Various times
Thursday, April 30, 2020 Various times
Friday, May 1, 2020 Various times
Saturday, May 2, 2020 Various times
Sunday, May 3, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 Various times
Thursday, May 7, 2020 Various times
Friday, May 8, 2020 Various times
Saturday, May 9, 2020 Various times
Sunday, May 10, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, May 12, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, May 13, 2020 Various times
Thursday, May 14, 2020 Various times
Friday, May 15, 2020 Various times
Saturday, May 16, 2020 Various times
Sunday, May 17, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, May 20, 2020 Various times
Thursday, May 21, 2020 Various times
Friday, May 22, 2020 Various times
Saturday, May 23, 2020 Various times
Sunday, May 24, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, May 27, 2020 Various times
Thursday, May 28, 2020 Various times
Friday, May 29, 2020 Various times
Saturday, May 30, 2020 Various times
Sunday, May 31, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, June 2, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, June 3, 2020 Various times
Thursday, June 4, 2020 Various times
Friday, June 5, 2020 Various times
Saturday, June 6, 2020 Various times
Sunday, June 7, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, June 9, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, June 10, 2020 Various times
Thursday, June 11, 2020 Various times
Friday, June 12, 2020 Various times
Saturday, June 13, 2020 Various times
Sunday, June 14, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 Various times
Thursday, June 18, 2020 Various times
Friday, June 19, 2020 Various times
Saturday, June 20, 2020 Various times
Sunday, June 21, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, June 23, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 Various times
Thursday, June 25, 2020 Various times
Friday, June 26, 2020 Various times
Saturday, June 27, 2020 Various times
Sunday, June 28, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, June 30, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Various times
Thursday, July 2, 2020 Various times
Friday, July 3, 2020 Various times
Saturday, July 4, 2020 Various times
Sunday, July 5, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, July 8, 2020 Various times
Thursday, July 9, 2020 Various times
Friday, July 10, 2020 Various times
Saturday, July 11, 2020 Various times
Sunday, July 12, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 Various times
Thursday, July 16, 2020 Various times
Friday, July 17, 2020 Various times
Saturday, July 18, 2020 Various times
Sunday, July 19, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 Various times
Thursday, July 23, 2020 Various times
Friday, July 24, 2020 Various times
Saturday, July 25, 2020 Various times
Sunday, July 26, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, July 28, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 Various times
Thursday, July 30, 2020 Various times
Friday, July 31, 2020 Various times
Saturday, August 1, 2020 Various times
Sunday, August 2, 2020 Various times
Tuesday, August 4, 2020 Various times
Wednesday, August 5, 2020 Various times
Thursday, August 6, 2020 Various times
Friday, August 7, 2020 Various times
Saturday, August 8, 2020 Various times
Sunday, August 9, 2020 Various times
Event Info
Cost: 
Included with admission
Recommended Age: 
All Ages
Editor's Pick: 

From fluffy hatchling to massive killing machine, AMNH's new exhibition explores the life history, remarkable abilities, and ancient relatives of tyrannosaurus rex.

The full tyrannosaur story includes dozens of different species and spans over 100 million years of evolution, with T. rex appearing only at the very end of that period. Most tyrannosaurs were not giants like T. rex, which, fully grown, weighed between 6 and 9 tons. Early species were small and fast, likely avoiding confrontations with larger dinosaurs.

So how did mega-predators like T. rex evolve from such humble origins? How did T. rex grow so quickly in adolescence, ballooning from the size of a chicken to the size of a truck in just 21 years, gaining up to 4.6 pounds per day? And what kind of super sensory skills and traits did it use to become such an efficient killer?

T. rex: The Ultimate Predator addresses these questions and more with life-sized reconstructions of tyrannosaurs at various life stages, real fossils and casts, large-scale video projections, hands-on interactives, and an exhilarating virtual reality experience that lets visitors work in a group to assemble a T. rex skeleton.

  • Visitors encounter a massive life-sized model of a T. rex with patches of feathers—which, as scientists now know, were likely present on nearly all non-avian dinosaurs (all dinosaurs other than birds)—as well as reconstructions of a fluffy, helpless T. rex hatchling and a four-year-old juvenile T. rex;
  • a “roar mixer” where visitors can imagine what T. rex might have sounded like by blending sounds from other animals;
  • a shadow theater where a floor projection of an adult T. rex skeleton comes to life;
  • a magnetic wall where visitors are tasked with placing various tyrannosaur family members in the correct time period;
  • a life-sized animation of T.rex in the Cretaceous and real data from fossil specimens, CT scans, and microscope images at a tabletop Investigation Station.

In collaboration with HTC VIVE, the Museum also presents V. rex (working title), its first interactive, multi-player virtual reality experience. Visitors team up to build a T. rex skeleton bone by bone and then watch as it comes to life in what is now Montana, as it was 66 million years ago.

 

Location: 
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street
10024 New York , NY
Phone: 212-769-5100
40° 46' 55.3152" N, 73° 58' 18.1884" W
New York
Event Tags: